hobart logo

Showing results for Movie Reviews

JOKER photo
October 11, 2019 | movie reviews

JOKER

Sean Kilpatrick

Baby’s first ethics class shouldn’t be the media

Death Note / mother! / final movie review photo
September 7, 2017 | movie reviews

Death Note / mother! / final movie review

Sean Kilpatrick

Domo

War on Everyone photo
August 16, 2017 | movie reviews

War on Everyone

Sean Kilpatrick

"Don't tuck your art in." Jamie Foxx

Lady Macbeth / Little Hours / Ingrid Goes West photo
August 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Lady Macbeth / Little Hours / Ingrid Goes West

Sean Kilpatrick

H-E-double hockey sticks

Spiderman: Homecoming / Valerian: City of a Thousand Planets / Wonder Woman photo
July 25, 2017 | movie reviews

Spiderman: Homecoming / Valerian: City of a Thousand Planets / Wonder Woman

Sean Kilpatrick

Enemas blastin!

Baby Driver / The Bad Batch / The Beguiled photo
July 14, 2017 | movie reviews

Baby Driver / The Bad Batch / The Beguiled

Sean Kilpatrick

Tampopo!

Mystery Science Theater 3000 photo
June 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Mystery Science Theater 3000

Sean Kilpatrick

Nemo me impune lacessit - pueri et infirmi, qui scripsit in pupa.

Buster's Mal Heart photo
June 14, 2017 | movie reviews

Buster's Mal Heart

Sean Kilpatrick

Malek's our man for Malek on Malek

Raw photo
May 18, 2017 | movie reviews

Raw

Sean Kilpatrick

USE THE SCREAMBOX

Colossal photo
May 17, 2017 | movie reviews

Colossal

Sean Kilpatrick

Spoilers

T2: Trainspotting 2 photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

T2: Trainspotting 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Single tear

Ghost in the Shell photo
April 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Ghost in the Shell

Sean Kilpatrick

PS - Takeshi Kitano is god

Get Out / John Wick 2 photo
March 15, 2017 | movie reviews

Get Out / John Wick 2

Sean Kilpatrick

Honoring AV Club's restraining order against me from this day forward

A Cure for Wellness photo
March 13, 2017 | movie reviews

A Cure for Wellness

Sean Kilpatrick

“I look forward to the time when I shall refuse to learn another thing, having accumulated errors enough.” Charles Fort

La La Land photo
February 7, 2017 | movie reviews

La La Land

Sean Kilpatrick

Suicide is all theory until you fall in love with a piece of shit.

The Greasy Strangler photo
January 16, 2017 | movie reviews

The Greasy Strangler

Sean Kilpatrick

Ribbit

In a Valley of Violence photo
January 12, 2017 | movie reviews

In a Valley of Violence

Sean Kilpatrick

Going big on tsk tsk.

The Deleted photo
December 17, 2016 | movie reviews

The Deleted

Sean Kilpatrick

Dialogue is not necessary

The Eyes of My Mother photo
December 16, 2016 | movie reviews

The Eyes of My Mother

Sean Kilpatrick

Rapturous VHS solitude

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror photo
November 23, 2016 | movie reviews

Dog Eat Dog / Black Mirror

Sean Kilpatrick

Writers are running out of good guy badges. Virtue signaling shame ponies and other cultural nyet.

Trash Fire photo
November 16, 2016 | movie reviews

Trash Fire

Sean Kilpatrick

It's the kind of world that makes you vomit well into sobriety.

Demon photo
October 19, 2016 | movie reviews

Demon

Sean Kilpatrick

Poland = Michigan

Author: The JT Leroy Story photo
October 17, 2016 | movie reviews

Author: The JT Leroy Story

Sean Kilpatrick

piss you one cleaner than your trackshoes, say i / sex toys on lease to i / houses for my centipede, ow / coke that asshole into skinny fleece / clean up with her spate, guy / suck stray dogs in the cock wound, i / lick what your god's got, why / imma mafuckun star boi

Suicide Squad photo
September 14, 2016 | movie reviews

Suicide Squad

Sean Kilpatrick

This D minus of a man

Don't Breathe photo
September 12, 2016 | movie reviews

Don't Breathe

Sean Kilpatrick

Is it ok to bite the hand that feeds you if the food is mostly rubber?

Recent Books

Exit, Carefully

Elizabeth Ellen

"I loved reading Exit, Carefully. It’s unusual, and in my opinion exciting, to publish a play without previously receiving a major production."

                      -Walker Caplan, Lithub

Worsted

Garielle Lutz

“Lutz’s work is a marvel of the possibilities of language.  Each of her sentences is an intricately crafted thing, deeply complex yet crystalline in its clarity . . . her command of each and every word remains supreme.”     

  --Mira Braneck, The Paris Review Daily

 

Garielle Lutz is the author of The Complete Gary Lutz, among other books.

Her Lesser Work

Elizabeth Ellen

"[Her Lesser Work] is a collection of mordant and formally inventive stories circling themes of, let’s say, desire and escape within repressive structures."

      -Walker Caplan, Literary Hub